Main content

Laboratory of Metal Physics and Technology

Welcome to the Laboratory of Metal Physics and Technology (LMPT), which is part of the Department of Materials at ETH Zurich. The LMPT carries out research and teaching in areas ranging from basic science to technology, mostly in metals-related areas. It is headed by Jörg F. Löffler, and is made up of physicists, materials scientists, and chemists from all around the world.

LMPT’s aim is to develop new metallic materials, and to find and explore novel phenomena in metal physics and technology via detailed materials analysis and modeling. Research focuses in particular on (i) bulk metallic glasses, (ii) metallic biomaterials, (iii) magnetic alloys, and (iv) modern aspects of metallurgy. Teaching relates to the fundamentals of materials science and materials physics, where it is especially important for us to create a basis for life-long learning.

I hope to illustrate you on these webpages that we are excited in performing research and teaching within our branch of science.

My best wishes on behalf of LMPT,
Jörg F. Löffler


26.09.2016 | Awards

DGM Prize “Breakthrough” 2016 awarded to Jörg F. Löffler

Jörg F. Löffler wins the DGM Prize “Breakthrough” 2016 of the German Society of Materials. This award is “bestowed on an excellent scientist in the middle of his/her research career for outstanding scientific achievements which represent a breakthrough in materials science and/or for initiating a new research field.” Read more 

28.04.2016 | Awards

Stefan Pogatscher wins the Houska Prize 2016

Stefan Pogatscher wins one of Austria’s highest research prizes for his work on aging of aluminum alloys, which solved a long-standing problem regarding the negative effect of “natural aging” in Al6000 alloys and described the atomistic mechanism controlling this aging. These results, elaborated at the Montanuniversität Leoben and ETH Zurich, have led to significantly improved properties of AlMgSi alloys at shorter processing times on an industrial level. Read more 

Page URL:
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich